Michael Baeron – Turbine Test on a Wider Scale

27 Feb
4 Responses to “Michael Baeron – Turbine Test on a Wider Scale”

  1. Michael Baeron February 27, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    These were the results of my 3rd test. Test 2 involved using a laser but the results weren’t as I desired. What I found out on this trial was that the turbines don’t illuminate as well with a cloudy backdrop and to get the results I want a black clear sky is required.

    Further tests will involve me connecting the camera to the laptop and scheduling long exposures to be taken at different time intervals as well as incorporating illumination using different coloured acetates.

    I eagerly await the next clear night.

  2. edwatts February 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    As I’ve said before, I think this is a really interesting. I think your right to keep experimenting, with this type of work its crucial to get aesthetic spot on throughout the series.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more but I can’t help looking back at the previous, individual turbines. I just love the fact that they’re so instantly striking and your physical intervention is clear and become another layer to the work.

    I think the key with the new shots is to capture that ‘human presence’ in the same way the individual shots can. I think it gives the viewer a real sense of connection between photographer and photograph.

    Good stuff and looking forward to seeing more…

    Ed

  3. Anne Lister February 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I enjoy the idea of the wider scene with a “field” of turbines. I like wt22 best of these. The mood reminds me of Edward Hopper’s painting “Nighthawks”. The colours, the separateness of the turbines, and the difference in lighting between the turbines and the hills all contribute to a sense of isolation, even desolation. Here, I think the absence of other detail contributes to that emotion.

  4. Jonathan Lucas March 4, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    The colours and the mood of these images are very striking and atmospheric. Unique.

Leave a Reply

