Anne Lister Airport walk

28 Feb
4 Responses to “Anne Lister Airport walk”

  1. Anne Lister February 28, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    This is a subset of the airport walk images I showed for brief 1. Walking along the boundary fence near runway 2 at Manchester airport. It could be entitled “Walking the dog” !
    Sorry about the messy image names – if you wish to refer to them please use the 4 digit number eg 7953

    • edwatts March 1, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      Hi Anne,

      I think this a really good attempt at achieving a strong, concise edit. I liked the original images from brief one and I love the idea. Its subtle and intriguing, not over complicated, a trap easy to fall into. I would be really keen to see more to give feedback on the edit. Possible a best of all the sub sections could work for the exhibition? all exploring this area around the airport. We’d need to see all the images together though to judge that. Looking forward to chatting about that more on Saturday.

      Ed

  2. Michael Baeron March 1, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Hey up Anne,

    these images for me could fit into 2 categories, ones showing how in-accessible the airport is (8003, 41 & 56) and the others showing how the boundary of the airport reacts with the public footpath (7953, 89). I think the latter category contain the strongest images whilst the former 3 could act as filler images to build a story.

    I like the time of day you took the images but maybe that’s because I’m “gay for sunsets”. There’s supposed to be some clear days ahead of us, maybe an opportunity to get more images.

    When we saw David Walkers work he had taken an image in his “Mad Richards Folly” project of a tree with “shithole” spray painted on it. I know he said he didn’t do it but the thought of this sweet man doing it made me laugh so much. It would make me laugh if you were to take some strange objects to throw over the fence to photograph like your 8056 image, maybe stuff like a large pie, a pair of underpants or a dildo! Maybe have the underpants dangling off the barbed wire!!

    Any road.

    Mick x

  3. Jonathan Lucas March 4, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I really think these are very strong images and my favourite is the first in this set. I can see how they could evolve into a great set of images by using shots taken around or through the perimeter fence!

Leave a Reply

