Berlin Black & Whites – Matt Kendall

1 Mar

So here’s my first collection of images from Berlin. Maybe Black & White is a cliche too far, but it feels like a nice match and contributes to the story. Maybe colour would have been more truthful, but Black & White seems to paint a picture you may expect to see from East Germany.

I have another couple of sets as well, so maybe that will be a nice contrast….

11 Responses to “Berlin Black & Whites – Matt Kendall”

  1. Michael Baeron March 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Welcome back Matt,

    love the images with 01 & 09 being particularly strong for me. Don’t know if you’ve purposely arranged them so that the power of suggestion kicks in but after the first 3 images I saw walls and barriers in every image, and as you suggest I think the B&W helps create this suggestion. The upward looking shots give an enclosed feel to the images too.

    Looking forward to seeing more sets.

    Mick

  2. Matt March 2, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Thanks for the comments Mick.Whilst maybe not intentional at the time, I like the wall analogy. I was interested by just how big nearly every building is, and the typical German angular style of architecture. I like #12 myself, with the contrast between the hard lines and flowing lines of the tree. I was happy with #5 as well, as the crane joins the new build to the old build…

    Being critical, I #08 and #10 could probably be dropped from the set.

  3. edwatts March 2, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Hi Matt,

    These look really interesting. I see what you mean about the b+w cliche but hey, if it works, it works, and these look great. For me its all about numbers 6, 7, 9 and 12, though I think the majority of the wider set work. I’d maybe think about a reshuffle to break up the first three, as they are different in their visual approach to the landscape. Looking forward to seeing some more and discussing what you’ll select to exhibit. I think you’ve got a pretty good list of options to pick from…

    Ed

  4. Matt March 3, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Thanks Ed. Glad you picked out #6 – that’s one of my favourites along with #12. I think they could be split into smaller groups as you say – the more abstract geometric ones, and the ones that are clearly Berlin.

    Interesting point re: exhibition selection, not sure what to go for just yet!

  5. Jonathan Lucas March 4, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    I think these work so well in black and white. I think my favourite is No.10. But as a set the angular industrial images would work best. Nice one.

  6. Amanda Green March 4, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Hi Matt
    I think these are a really strong set of images! my favourites are 7, 10, 11 & 12. I really love 7! The clean lines really appeal to me and that composition!!
    They work really well in black & white, but have you maybe tried just de-saturating the colour a bit? Or maybe using an antique grayscale in lightroom, to just give it a bit of a twist? I would really like to see the colour versions on saturday and just see what there is to play with!

  7. David Walker March 12, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    08 & 09 work for me, but I’m desperate to either crop the trees and sky off 08, or better still add more foreground. The character of East Berlin comes across much better when there are no people in them, it looks like a ghost town, so please gun down that figure in 01

    • Matt March 12, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      What a terribly insensitive comment, given that many people were infact gunned down just yards from where than man walks. So no David, I will not “gun down” that figure.

      In fact, I think the man makes that picture, and shows how for locals walking past the wall is part of their every day life, and how they have to live with that macabre history.

      • David Walker March 13, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

        I’ve just checked on the results of my comments, and I’m really sorry that the (gun down) aspect of my crit. was interpreted as anything but a flippant comment meant
        after a very long day, as a joke that fell on a very stony ground indeed.

  8. Michael Baeron March 12, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Totally agree Matt and as posted in my first comment 01 remains one of my favourite images, all because of the person. All of your images are about landscapes made by humans, without humans all of your images would be of sky and plantation and the addition of 1 tiny person adds a little humanity to the collection, and it has a Cartier-Bresson feel for me.

    Remember you’re the artist here and you can do whatever you wish to the images, I’d gun down the critic before the person though!

  9. Matt March 14, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Thanks for the reply David.

Leave a Reply

