Jonathan Lucas Mersey Way Car Park Stockport

3 Mar

These are my attempt to look at a set of images that have a theme running through them. I have some country side shots that form a set but this subject really appealed to me in a decaying urban landscape.

8 Responses to “Jonathan Lucas Mersey Way Car Park Stockport”

  1. Anne Lister March 3, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Wow! This is very different. A strong set of images.For me no 6 is really outstanding and I love nos 1 and 2 almost as much.

  2. Amanda Green March 4, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I agree with Anne! Very different and striking! I love the strong shapes and particularly the lighting! I also think 1, 2 & 6 are the strongest!

  3. Matt March 4, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Fantastic Jonathan – blown away by #2 which looks CGI! Maybe could be improved by getting it without any cars in it to build on the abstract nature of it? The lighting is amazing.

    • Jonathan Lucas March 4, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      Yes the lighting was just so surrreal and it would have been better if there where no cars at all!! Very creepy place!

  4. Elaine Mateer March 4, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    I think these images work really well as a set and the strongest one for me is the second photo. There’s something eerie and a bit post apocalyptic about it!

  5. Michael Baeron March 4, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Lighting is fantastic in this set. The patterned wall makes me want to work it out like a puzzle, there doesn’t appear to be any symmetry or specific pattern when I think there must be. And I like the subtle splashes of yellow. And I’m right with your thoughts on the #2 image Matt.

  6. David Walker March 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    This could be the start of a series of desolate car park images, but my preference is no. 4. I like the uniform/lozenge effect of the breeze blocks.

  7. Christopher Marsden May 24, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Lovely images. It is good to know there are others who appreciate the car park.

    There are three forms used in the screen.The sculptor was Alan Boyson. Boyson suggests there is no pattern, rather he just arranged them. Date is circa 1967.
    I was pleased to be able to publish paper on Boyson; Marsden, Christopher (2010) ‘Anything with Anything; an introduction to the art and craft of Alan Boyson’ in Journal of The Tiles and Architectural Ceramics Society Vol 16, pp 31-44.

    The Twentieth Century Society is holding an Alan Boyson Day in and around Manchester on 11 June http://boyson.eventbrite.com/

Leave a Reply

