Elaine Mateer – Black & White Textures

4 Mar

When I was at home recently I ventured into the terrain of my dad’s garage and unearthed some unusual objects with contrasting textures in the process. My mum would go mad if she knew the contents of our garage was online for the whole world to see, along with my dad’s evident collecting habits! I think shots 4 and 5 are my favourite and I might explore abstract forms further and try achieve more surreal shots, as seen in no.8. I’m keeping in mind the exhibition at the Zion Arts Centre at the end of April too and hope to contribute images that are strong individually but work as a coherent set. Also, I don’t often use black and white but it seemed appropriate to emphasis the textures and shapes for this series – what do you think?

4 Responses to “Elaine Mateer – Black & White Textures”

  1. Anne Lister March 4, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Hi Elaine, Exciting idea! My favourites are 8,9 and 10 where the light is subtle and the shapes are strong and I’m not quite sure what I’m looking at. I love the idea of pushing towards a more surreal (or Man Ray -ish) effect.

  2. Michael Baeron March 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Hiya Elaine,

    bang the colour collection of your dads garage up, the one that starts with the image of the garage door. I’m sure with them and maybe some of these and the ones where your dad is making an electrical device (definitely not incorporating a mercury tilt switch!)you’ll get a great collection.

    Mick

    • Elaine Mateer March 8, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      Cheers for your comments and I’ll get the other set up there very soon, including the piilarbox red garage door!

    • Elaine Mateer March 8, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Cheers for your comments and I’ll get the other set up very soon, including the pillarbox red garage door!

Leave a Reply

