Elaine Mateer – Garage Delight

9 Mar

Some more garage photos but this time featuring hyper real primary colours. I view these photos as landscapes, documenting a lifetime of collecting and categorising, but maybe not everyone would agree. Shot 2 is my favourite, depicting an organised kind of chaos and no.1 shows the garage exterior, which is easily the brightest door on the whole of our street!

7 Responses to “Elaine Mateer – Garage Delight”

  1. Anne Lister March 9, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Elaine, this set is fabulous!I like it way above the b/w set. I love the wire shots especially. Good idea to show the garage door.

  2. Michael Baeron March 9, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Elaine,

    yip, love it. And I agree that this could easily fall into a contemporary landscape category. In this country we are very confined and the garage/shed for many men becomes an extended play area, an extended piece of private property and sometimes an extremely private place. I know my neighbours probably spend more time in their sheds than they do their homes, in one of the briefs I photographed the sheds around my neighbourhood and my next door neighbour wouldn’t allow me in his! Very frustrating.

    I love the colours and think the images give an insight into your dad. They have a very “Richard Billingham” quality for me. Well done.

    • Anne Lister March 9, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      I agree with Mick – for me these photos definitely fit into contemporary landscape category: firstly of the garage and secondly of your father (and in a nice way so your Mum need not worry!).
      You’ve cracked it, girl!:-)

  3. David Walker March 12, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    I think that there is a project here. I like the more abstract images from both sets, but you need to find some interesting garages to search, be brave, go on a search of well off, and low life areas for suitable subject matter.
    I like no. 6,and 8 from the coloured ones, and 6, 8, 9, and 10 from the B/W

  4. Matt March 12, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Really nice Elaine! Interested to see how you will choose to exhibit them together – any thoughts?

  5. Manuela Boyle March 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Elaine, you’ve done the garage and Dad proud! I love the Richard Billingam reference Michael makes above. The photographs offer an insight into the order and chaos of one individual’s mind!

  6. Alex Gurgan April 4, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    A new project comes to mind –
    1. Stir up shed contents with a large stick
    2. Photograph your Dad’s reaction
    3. Make sure the large stick can’t be found!

Leave a Reply

