Jonathan Lucas

17 Mar

These are some more images from Mersey Way car park. It was a very sunny day and the starkness of the bright sunlight and the washed out concrete reminded me of some old fortified structure that could be found in the Middle East. I hope to use some of these to add to the first batch of car park images but I will have to do some serious editing down to the final images

6 Responses to “Jonathan Lucas”

  1. Anne Lister March 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    Lovely , bright , sharp images. Who needs to go to Dubai when you can go to Stockport car park? I admire the Point of View you have taken with some of them – looking up to the sky – this adds drama. The one with the reflections holds my eye and has me looking around the picture from wall to reflection and back and forth. Love the use of light. Some good abstract shapes coming through.

  2. Michael Baeron March 17, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Wow, what a contrast, it’s gone from being quite a threatening looking place to a Car Park in the Med. I imagine you were wearing Speedo’s and flip flops when you took these? Love image 138, absolutely brilliant.

    • Jonathan Lucas March 18, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Thanks Michael. I resisted the temptation to wear speedo’s in a car park in Stockport! Not sending the right message I think!! haha. But it was a hot sunny day and yes what a contrast to the first set of images! Oh which to choose for my final set?

      • edwatts March 21, 2011 at 11:22 am #

        Hi Jonathan,

        I agree, another strong set of shots. I think its always good to try every possibility with a subject before making a final decision. I can’t help thinking back to the original set though. I think you had some really strong images within it. You do get some very striking, angular compositions here but I just think they lack the edgy, flimic quality of your original images. I would suggest revisiting those images and trying to maybe edit it down to as little as four shots, this way you could end up with a really strong set of images to exhibit.

        In the end though, its up to you!

  3. Jonathan Lucas March 21, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Hi Ed

    Yes I agree with you about the filmic quality of the first set which is what I was trying to portray. I think this group is so different from my original set and after looking at them again I will use 4 images from my first set to have a good strong group to exhibit.

    Thanks again for your comments and advice

    Jon

  4. Christopher Marsden May 24, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Thanks Jonathan. Again lovely.

    The car park architect, who was was reponsible for the stairwell, E P Andrew (then of the Architects Department, Cooperative Wholesale Society) will be on the Alan Boyson Day bus trip on 11 June 2011. http://boyson.eventbrite.com/

Leave a Reply

